Frequently Asked Questions
Any person 16 years or older must have a fishing license to fish in Maine. We highly recommend visiting the Maine state website and purchasing your license prior to your trip. We recommend taking a screenshot of your license on your phone if you are not able to print it out. There are options for 1 day, 3 day, and 7 day fishing licenses.
Rods, reels, and flies or lures are provided by the guide. However, please feel free to bring your own equipment if you would like to use it! We recommend a 4-6 weight rod for trout and salmon. For smallmouth bass, we recommend a 6-8 weight rod. Waders and wading boots are NOT available from the guide so please bring your own, if needed.
Some payment applications (i.e. PayPal & Venmo) charge (~3.5%) more for credit card transactions so your final price may reflect that charge. To avoid an additional fee, we recommend bringing cash or check to pay the balance of your guide trip at the end of the fishing day. Plus, guides always appreciate cash gratuities.
GETTING TO MAINE
Portland airport is usually the cheapest option to fly into. However, we fish in central and northern Maine so flying into Portland could make for a 2-5 hour drive. We recommend flying into the Bangor airport because smallmouth bass trips are close and its only a 2-3 hour drive to the North Maine Woods. You could also fly into the Presque Isle airport if you will be fishing and staying in the North Maine Woods, but this can be pricey.
WHAT TO BRING
- Maine fishing license
- Polarized sunglasses
- Hat and Sunscreen
- Bug spray
- Waders, wading boots, wading staff (for wading trips)
- Wet wading shoes/clothes (for float trips)
- Don’t forget the snacks.
BAD WEATHER OR TOUGH CONDITIONS?
Fishing is fishing – we don’t sell catching. We sell a great experience on the water, developing fishing skills, increasing our anglers knowledge, and working hard to provide a great day on the water. If the weather or waters are un-fishable then we look for alternatives on a case by case basis. We will certainly not be fishing if the weather is dangerous and we can look to rebooking at that point.
DO I TIP ON A GUIDED TRIP?
Guide gratuities are standard practice, however we leave it solely to the discretion of our anglers. People often ask what the appropriate gratuity is for a guide service. We truly wish for you to have a bucket list experience and we work hard to make that happen. With that in mind, the gratuity rates for fishing trips are considered the same as a restaurant or other service and a 20% tip on the guide day is average for a Registered Maine Guide. Gratuities are a valuable part of a guide’s annual income and remember that when fishing is tough your guide probably worked harder than when fishing is easy.
Safety is of the utmost importance so we would like to share a few regulations we stand by firmly.
- Sunglasses are highly encouraged to wear for eye safety while fishing.
- Kids the age of 10 and under must wear a life jacket in the boat at all times. This is a Maine state law. Your guide will have the appropriate sized life jacket to fulfill this requirement, or please feel free to bring your own life jacket.
- Most all your hooks will be de-barbed during catch and release activities.
Fishing deposits are half the price of the guided trip and are non-refundable because the fishing season is short and guides must capitalize on every day they can to sustain their business. However, we understand that things happen and thus deposits are transferrable up to one year from the original guided trip date.